Bucks County Tennis Association

» News

Local Talent Showcased at 14th Annual BCTA Jr. Class

August 1, 2017 02:37 PM
Boys’ 14s photo captions (left to right): BCTA Junior Leader Andrew Qiao, Champion Rishi Cohen Runner-up Saarim Rizavi and BCTA Junior Leader Kate Lynden
Boys’ 16s photo captions (left to right): Champion Chris Choo, Runner-up Alex Yan and BCTA Tournament Director Laura Canfield
Boys’ 18s photo captions (left to right): BCTA Junior Leader Charlie Haviken, Champion Matthew Whalen and Runner-up Brandan Caban

The annual BCTA Jr. Classic, a USTA-sanctioned tournament run by the Bucks County Tennis Association, Inc., drew 47 athletes from throughout Pennsylvania and New Jersey, and was held at Council Rock North High School in Newtown, July 28 through July 30.

“What a great group of kids,” BCTA Tournament Director Laura Canfield said. “Many matches were very competitive and players rose to the occasion. There were also awesome displays of sportsmanship and motivation. I wish these athletes the best of luck in their tennis career.”

Congratulations to the following players as well all those who entered the draws:


Boys’ 18s

Champion: Matthew Whalen (Newtown, PA)

Runner-up: Brandon Caban (Drexel Hill, PA)

Third place: Nicholas Zhou (Lawrenceville, NJ)


Boys’ 16s

Champion: Chris Choo (Ambler, PA)

Runner-up: Alex Yan (North Wales, PA)

Third place: Landon Strober (Flemington, NJ)


Boys’ 14s

Champion: Rishi Cohen (Philadelphia, PA)

Runner-up: Saarim Rizavi (Pennington, NJ)

Third place: Neel Adusumilli (Skillman, NJ)


Full results are available here.

The BCTA offers special thanks to Visit Bucks County and its partners for participating in the Welcome Packet for competitors; BCTA Tournament Director Laura Canfield;  members of the BCTA Junior Leadership Development program—Kate Lynden, Andrew Qiao, Jeffery Zhao, Charlie Haviken and  Echo Cadmus—for serving as court monitors and offering other assistance; Council Rock School District and Northampton Tennis & Fitness Center for making their facilities available; and most important, thanks to the late Frances Rupert and Ellen Hackett for their legacy in sponsoring the Boys’ 16s memorial championship trophy.